Orleans County added to the official disaster declaration by FEMA

State and federal officials announced last week that Orleans County had been added to the official disaster declaration by FEMA due to the flooding earlier this month. The Individual Assistance Disaster Declaration was signed by President Joseph Biden earlier this month and several counties have been added as a fuller assessment of the damage is done. The latest declaration now allows residents of Orleans County to apply for federal assistance for personal losses during this month’s storm and floods. Caledonia, Chittenden, Lamoille, Orange, Rutland, Washington, Windham, and Windsor counties had previously been approved. Those who have personal losses should report damage to vermont211.org or by calling 211. The online reporting tool is preferred. Even if the damage is minor, residents should report it.